Hawaiian Honeymoon Part I

by pambythesea

My husband (!) and I were married December 31st, 2010.  I should really write about the ceremony, planning and knitting my wedding sweater, but that can wait for another time.  In short, it was beautiful, exhausting, and as one well-wisher wrote in a card to us, “one of life’s great rituals”.

 These past few months have involved coming down from the wedding, getting over no longer planning a wedding, regretting all of the details of the wedding (very common it turns out!), feeling peaceful and happy about all of the details of the wedding, being really happy that I married such a wonderful man, feeling thankful for all of our wonderful friends and family, and planning our honeymoon!  Thanks to my mom and stepdad, we were able to book tickets to paradise- Hawaii!  


We had a few set plans for our trip, but besides those we pretty much organized the whole thing while we were there.  We first stayed in Kailua on Oahu, and it was lovely!  Of course I didn’t take any photos the first three days of our vacation, so you’ll just have to imagine it. 

We rented cottage #26 from Pat’s Kailua Beach Rentals, and I would highly recommend it.  We were three houses from the beach and right next to a gigantic banyan tree that hosted what seemed like a million birds.  It especially seemed like a million at 5 am when they all got up and started chatting about their upcoming day!  The beach there is so nice.  It has white, soft sand, and water that is the best shade of turquoise blue.  We jumped in and played our first evening and laughed at how lucky we were.  

