Miso

by pambythesea

I’ve seen miso making its way around blogland, and I really wanted to give it a try. Anyone who knows me knows I LOVE ramen! Not the crappy kind in a packet from the corner store, but real ramen from a restaurant. Like Motomachi in Vancouver. Go there if you haven’t been!
I bought shiro miso over the weekend, and gave it a try tonight. I didn’t take “during” photos because I wasn’t sure how well it would turn out, but it was amazing!


Here are the ingredients:
– 5 diced chicken thighs off the bone
– 1 chopped carrot
– 4 heads of pak choy (bok choy or any leafy green would work fine)
– 5 finely chopped garlic cloves (I love garlic! I almost wrote that I live garlic, which is also true)
– 1/2 tsp finely chopped ginger
– 1/2 finely chopped onion
And the sauce ingredients. Keep in mind they are all guesstimates, I don’t cook with measuring spoons:
– 3 tbsps oil (canola is fine)
– 3 tbsps miso paste
– 1 tsp rice wine vinegar
– 1 tsp fish sauce
– 1 tsp sugar
– 1/2 stock cube
– 1 tsp soy sauce
– 1/2 tsp pepper
You can add in or take away any ingredients you want, like different veggies or things in the sauce. Next time I think I’ll put in some wine and hot chilies.
First, sautée the garlic, ginger and onion in a bit of oil. Then add in the chicken and cook until the outsides are white-ish. Then add the sauce. Cook for about 10 minutes then add the carrot. After about 5 minutes, add in the leafy greens. Cook for another few minutes until they’re wilted, and you’re done!
To make the noodles, boil unsalted water and add in dry ramen noodles (not the crappy curly ones, look for good flat ones in the Asian cooking section). They take about 4 minutes. Put some cooked noodles in a bowl, add the stir fry on top with some of the liquid, and voila!


Joe was a fan! Here’s my proud-face:


Slowly redeeming myself in the kitchen!

