Protein bar recipe!

by pambythesea

I have gotten some requests from readers (read: my dad) to post the recipe I use to make protein bars.  This is a bit complicated by the fact that Joe and I still don’t have our stuff we sent from Canada (although it has arrived in Australia after it’s ocean voyage!), and so I don’t have my measuring spoons or cups.  But I think I figured out a way to show you the recipe without needing measuring tools.

The first thing about making these protein bars is that they are extremely resilient.  I change the amount of ingredients every time, and they still turn out fine.  The second thing is that you can switch out the ingredients for what you have, what’s cheap, or what you like.  I don’t digest seeds well, so I don’t use them.  But you can!  I use dried cherries because they’re not too expensive here- maybe dried cranberries would be cheaper if you’re in Canada.  

The basic mixture consists of protein powder, a crunchy carb, some sort of sticky nut butter, a sweetener, and flavour bites that aren’t necessary but make them quite palatable.  Here is my process:

1. Choose your protein powder.

Joe and I don’t like eating soy, so whey it is for us.  Try to find one that’s unflavoured, there’s no need to buy that fake vanilla or chocolate crap.

2. Measure out about 2 heaping handfuls of it and put it in a bowl.  I think this would be about 2 cups.

3. Add in the crunchy carb you want.

I added about 1-2 cups of rice puffs.  You could use oats or a crunchy (low sugar!) cereal as well.  These rice puffs are unsweetened and I got them at a bulk food store.  

4. Add in the dried fruit of your choice.

 

I added in about 1.5 cups of dried cherries.  I chopped them up a bit first.  These are sweetened a bit with apple juice, but they’re not extreme.

5. Add in some chocolate!

For some reason, the bulk store I go to doesn’t have chocolate chips (?), so I get squares and chop them up.  I use dark chocolate, it tastes much better to me!  Add in about 1 cup.

The dry ingredients are done!  

6. Now come the wet ingredients.  Add in 1-2 cups of nut butter.

I use crunchy, natural peanut butter.  You MUST use real nut butter!  No Kraft!  I think that the fake peanut butters are so disgusting, and they’re really unhealthy.  You could also use almond or macadamia nut butter, but peanut is just cheaper.  

7. Add in 2 heaping tablespoons of honey or maple syrup.

8. Add water.  You don’t need a lot of water!  Start with 1 cup, then mix and add more if needed.  The resulting mixture should be a paste that stays together but isn’t too wet.

Line the bottom of a baking tray with parchment paper.  Then create patties out of the dough and lay them on the tray.  Don’t mush them into the parchment or else the paper will stick!  Create a 1-inch layer of dough on the baking tray.   

Bake the dough at 350 for about 15 minutes.  It doesn’t need long, nor does it matter if they are “undercooked”.  Remove, slice up, wrap in foil and enjoy! I store them in the fridge and I have no idea how long they will last in there because ours are gone in under a week.  If you want, you could also freeze a whole batch.  

Enjoy!

