My 30’s

by pambythesea

I turned 30 in December.  It wasn’t traumatic or terribly exciting, although I did have a lovely birthday!  My friend Caitlin inspired me to write a list of 30 things to do while I’m 30.  She wrote one, and while she didn’t complete the whole thing (although she did impromptu needle felt a heart in the 10 minutes before she turned 31 and crossed that off her list!), she definitely felt it was a good exercise.  I don’t quite have 30 things on my list yet, but I will post it soon and show you what my goals are this year.  

This list reminded me of mine, and I thought I would go through and see how I’m doing.  Some of them I think are quite dumb as you’ll see, but some make sense!  

30 Things Every Woman Should Have and Should Know by the Time She’s 30:

By 30, you should have:

1. One old boyfriend you can imagine going back to and one who reminds you of how far you’ve come.

I think all of my friends agree I have lots of old boyfriends that remind me of how far I’ve come!  Haha, my poor, long-suffering friends and family.  I have dated some nice guys along the way too, but the only one I would want to go back to is Joey!

2. A decent piece of furniture not previously owned by anyone else in your family. 

Well, this one isn’t true for me.  I do have a trunk I love that is Mexican and has skeletons on it.  Can I count that?  🙂

3. Something perfect to wear if the employer or man of your dreams wants to see you in an hour.
Yes, I do have this one.  I just got a nice blazer I can wear for lots of occasions, and a new top.  I now have two interview-appropriate outfits!  I thought it would be important in case a potential employer wants to interview me twice. 

4. A purse, a suitcase and an umbrella you’re not ashamed to be seen carrying.
Joe and I just got great Heys luggage to come to Australia, totally worth it.  My umbrella is just fine, and I have some nice purses.  Done!

5. A youth you’re content to move beyond. 
I am totally okay with moving on from my 20s. They were wonderful, stressful, and prepared me well for my 30s!

6. A past juicy enough that you’re looking forward to retelling it in your old age.
I’ll just go with a simple yes on this one.

7. The realization that you are actually going to have an old age—and some money set aside to help fund it.
Erm… working on this one.

8. An e-mail address, a voice mailbox and a bank account—all of which nobody has access to but you.
Yes.  Joe and I mostly just use our shared bank account because that’s what works for us, but we also have separate accounts from before we got together.  

9. A résumé that is not even the slightest bit padded.
I’ve been hearing recently that people find my resume exciting, which is a nice compliment!  Volunteering and a supportive mom really helped make my resume something I’m proud of.

10. One friend who always makes you laugh and one who lets you cry.
So cheesy.
11. A set of screwdrivers, a cordless drill and a black lace bra.
I’ve always owned tools, and the bra thing is stupid. 

12. Something ridiculously expensive that you bought for yourself, just because you deserve it.
Umm, I would say (and Joe would agree!) that I have a few such indulgences!  My wedding shoes would probably be the top contender for this post.  I had just gotten a job, and had wanted them for months.  They were my present!

13. The belief that you deserve it.
Hmm, this one is also cheesy, but a good one to think about.  I’m not sure if they are referencing the above question, or just feeling like you deserve “it” in general.  Generally, I’m working on feeling like I deserve “it”.

14. A skin-care regimen, an exercise routine and a plan for dealing with those few other facets of life that don’t get better after 30.
Someone recently asked how old I was, and said it was so hard to tell with Canadians because of our skin.  I thought that was hilarious!  I guess the “stay out of the sun” manta really is best!

15. A solid start on a satisfying career, a satisfying relationship and all those other facets of life that do get better.
The man I’ve got!  Career, I’m working on it right now!

By 30, you should know:


16. How to fall in love without losing yourself.
Cheesy, but yes, I am still me.  Just a better version because Joe is so great!

17. How to quit a job, break up with a man and confront a friend without ruining the friendship.
Hmm, I guess I have this down.  I generally have great, low-maintenance friends who do not require any confrontation thank goodness!

18. How you feel about having kids.
Def. want them!

19. When to try harder and when to walk away.
Ugh, these are getting cheesy again!

20. How to kiss in a way that communicates perfectly what you would and wouldn’t like to happen next.
This is a very woman’s magazine sentence.

21. The names of: the secretary of state, your great-grandmother and the best tailor in town.
Not sure if these three people should really be grouped together… Interestingly, I don’t know the name of any great-grandmother.  Something I should find out.  

22. How to live alone, even if you don’t like to.
I LOVED living alone!  I love living with Joe more, but living alone is awesome!  You get to have your place exactly the way you want it.  Now I just have to resort to nagging to get that to happen (kidding!).

23. How to take control of your own birthday.
I mostly always plan my own birthday parties, no big deal.  I think it’s because my birthday is close to Christmas, people are party planned-out.

24. That you can’t change the length of your calves, the width of your hips or the nature of your parents.
I think you actually can change the first two things with surgery and exercise, amiright? 

25. That your childhood may not have been perfect, but it’s over.
I had a great childhood, sometimes I wish it wasn’t over!  But yes, good point, sometimes people need to move on.  

26. What you would and wouldn’t do for money or love.
I am being challenged every day during my job hunt by what I will and won’t do for money.  The other day a recruiter told me about a position at an explosives company that I was qualified for.  I was pretty upset at the prospect of applying until I realized that I DIDN’T HAVE TO.  And then I felt much better!

27. That nobody gets away with smoking, drinking, doing drugs or not flossing for very long.
People probably get away with not flossing for quite a while actually. 

28. Who you can trust, who you can’t and why you shouldn’t take it personally.
I take everything personally to be honest!  I’m working on it, but I’m pretty hardwired to want everyone to like me.  

29. Not to apologize for something that isn’t your fault.
This is not possible for a Canadian.  We apologize for everything. We apologize if you bump into us on the street, no joke.  Australians find it quite odd when I say sorry for dumb stuff actually, they take it really seriously!

30. Why they say life begins at 30. 
Well, I definitely don’t believe that life begins at conception, but 30 is a bit late, don’t you think?

That’s the end of this list!  It was a bit silly, but fun!  I hope you enjoyed it (for anyone why actually made it to the end).
