Bye bye sleeve, hello perfect sweater?

by pambythesea

One of my 30 things to do while I’m 30 is to make a sweater I would actually wear. I’ve made three sweaters so far since I learned to knit. The first was a Ysolda design for my wedding, the second was an owl sweater that was cute but just not me, and the third was a Kim Hargreaves sweater that is lovely, but not very flattering on me.

I want to make a sweater that I will want to wear forever. Something that is flattering, classic and cool. I looked around a lot, and fell in love with the Stasis Pullover by Leila Raabe for Brooklyntweed.


I ordered Brooklyntweed’s Loft in snowbound (a light gray) for the main colour, and old world (a navy) for the accent. I love the wool already; it has a lot of, well, loft, and really fills in gaps in the knit fabric. I think I’ll love the finished product!
I had one snafu already though on the first sleeve. I don’t knit a lot of colourwork, and my tension in that section was way too tight. Proof:

See how the colourwork section pulls in towards the middle? I thought maybe I could block it out, but I know to be really happy with the finished product, it has to be as close to perfect as possible. So, it’s time for me to suck it up, rip back, and redo the pattern. Good thing it’s fun!

