Danika’s Here!

by pambythesea

She’s actually been here since last Friday, and I wrote a blog post about it already which for some reason never uploaded. Grr. 

It’s really great having a friend from home here in Brisbane and staying with us! Danika is the friend who introduced Joe and I, and for that I will be eternally grateful. She’s here on her way to a conference in Cairns, so we have spent a lot of our time in libraries. Good thing the city library is so pretty! 

Over the weekend we took Danika around to our favourite places. This included a trip to West End Markets, a lovely walk around South Bank, and a trip to Mos Burger

Image

This was the very enthusiastic manager! Danika liked it!

Image

How could you not really! Then Joe gracefully ducked out while Danika and I did a bit of shopping. Joe is a great sport when it comes to shopping, but he doesn’t enjoy it at all. It was fun to go with someone who likes it! I took her to Gorman, of course, and to Maiocchi, a store that reminds me a lot of her. And I was right, she loved it! She got a beautiful dress on sale.

Image

On Sunday we went to the botanical gardens which are just as gorgeous in the winter. There are ibis everywhere, and they were gobbling up bread that some kids had thrown in the pool.

Image

They seemed quite timid to get in the water though, even though they have quite long legs. I’m not exactly sure why, but I think it has something to do with these:

Image

Eels! It turns out that a lot of lakes have eels that hang out. They don’t have (visible) teeth so I’m not sure if the ibis are scared, or just don’t want to get to close to those creepers. The eels didn’t like the bread, but they sure did mouth it a lot. Here’s a little eel-ibis standoff:

Image

Eel face! The gardens always have something in bloom, like this hibiscus:

Image

And they have some amazing sculptures as well. Definitely a must-see! We all left feeling very relaxed and happy!

 Image

Thanks, thin-mirror/sculpture for making me look svelte!

