Amazing garlic-peanut-sesame noodles!

by pambythesea

One of my favourite restaurants in Vancouver is Peaceful Noodles on Broadway near Cambie. It’s an amazing Mandarin restaurant where they hand-make the noodles, love garlic and spice, and always give great recommendations. It’s also really reasonably priced! Mmmmmmm.

When I worked in consulting, I made some wonderful friends, and we started going out for dinners about every month. After a while, we didn’t bother with anywhere else but Peaceful. We would talk about it every day at work, and plan it out for weeks!

Not all of the wonderful ladies I worked with are in this pic, but almost! Thanks to Himesha (on the upper right) for retouching this photo so I don’t look like a ghost!

One of the best dishes they have at Peaceful is this cold-steamed garlic sesame noodle bowl. It is so garlicky, rich, and delicious, and I’ve never had anything like it anywhere else. Until now.

I saw this recipe last week, and finally tried it yesterday, with a bit of tweaks. And it tasted like the Peaceful dish! Amazing! Here is the recipe:

Ingredients:

Sauce:

2 tbsp peanut butter. I used fresh ground chunky peanut butter. This wouldn’t work with the Kraft crap, so don’t bother!

2 tbsp grated ginger. I used a ginger piece about the size of my thumb.

2 cloves minced garlic. Realistically, we probably used 3!

2-3 tbsp sesame oil.

2 tbsp soy sauce.

1 tbsp rice wine vinegar.

Juice of 1 lime.

1 tsp hot pepper flakes.

Vegetables:

1 carrot, cut into strips. I used the vegetable peeler to get thin slices.

1/2 head of cabbage, cut into small pieces. We had green, but this would work with red as well.

1 cucumber, cut into small slices.

Noodles: 

1 package of ramen or soba noodles. I used ramen because I had some leftover, but I’m sure this would work with soba too.

Directions:

This recipe was originally written without cooking. It’s winter here and Joe and I were chilly, so we decided to cook the veggies and heat up the noodles. The sauce doesn’t get cooked. Either way would be really yummy!

Mix all of the sauce ingredients together and set aside. Sauté the carrots and cabbage in a bit of vegetable oil until soft. Either cook noodles, or if you have them ready, add them to the veggies to heat. Add the cucumber after as well, you don’t want to cook that! Once they’re cooked, add the sauce and mix. That’s it! Joe and I added fried eggs on top for some extra protein, which was really yum.

 

The finished product. I promise it tastes better than it looks.

Joe and I bit into it and immediately went nuts! It was so yummy, we didn’t talk all dinner! I bet using sesame butter instead of peanut would make it even more like the Peaceful dish.

 

You can’t tell from the picture, but Joe is about to get some serious garlic breath.

 

And so am I!

What a perfect recipe- quick, healthy and delicious. Mmmm!

 

